Fresh Milk, Very Locally Produced

I have new appreciation for cows.  That’s all I have to say about milk; I just couldn’t resist the title.

When I saw our CSA farmer at a market a couple of weeks ago, I asked about possibly picking up from a different location the week that I finally gave birth.  He drops off at different locations on different nights.  He has a general policy against changing dropoffs on a week-by-week basis, but when I asked, he said he makes exceptions for births and deaths, so it was fine.  Sure enough, we were in the hospital on pick-up day, so we sent an email the night before, and arranged to go to a different pickup later in the week.  On the new veggie day, all of us piled into the car.  Our baby enjoyed the ride to the pickup and our farmer stopped distributing veggies for a minute or so to come over to the car and meet the newest consumer of his food (processed through me, of course).

When we got home and unpacked our veggies, we found that we had received: 2 bunches each of kohlrabi, turnips, beets, broccoli, cilantro, chard, red leaf lettuce, bib lettuce, and romaine lettuce – a total of 18 items!  With a new baby, we’re barely able to cook.  We’re hoping that one of our friends who offered us some post-baby help can be convinced that blanching and freezing kohlrabi greens, turnip greens, beet greens, and chard is a good way to help.  (Despite frozen broccoli being so common in the supermarket, it’s one of the worse-freezing of our CSA vegetables.)  Lettuce doesn’t freeze.  Even if we didn’t have a new baby, I’m not sure how we could go through 6 heads of lettuce in a week.  In fact, we still had a head from last week, and don’t even have a full week before our next drop-off.  We had a brainstorm, a way to “save two birds with one bird-saving apparatus” as my brother puts it, for the benefit of the vegetarians.  We loaded up a bag with lettuce, and my husband went around to the neighbors we know.  At each house, he rang the bell, and if the door was answered he said “I came by to let you know we have a new baby girl and far too much lettuce, would you like some?”  Meanwhile, I watched from the bay window of our living room, holding our baby.  Over and over, I saw my husband receive congratulations and our neighbors receive lettuce.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Fresh Milk, Very Locally Produced”

  1. V Says:

    congrats on your new baby!

  2. Abbe Says:

    Congratulations! :) Whatever you have when I’m over next week that needs blanching and freezing, I’d be happy to help with!

    I’m sad to hear the broccoli doesn’t freeze well at home – I was hoping to figure out how to store broccoli for next winter. I wonder what they do at the supermarket!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

